A Penny

20130912-163604.jpgGood Morning.

It’s Saturday Morning.
I’m outside sitting on our steps with a Waffle and Cranberry Juice.
No cloud is in the sky. Sun is out. Singing birds. It’s perfectly cool. It’s good.

When I was walking out of the caf, I found a penny heads up. Dead center of the path. It’s staring right at me & you know what they say, “find a penny facing heads up, all day long you will have good luck…”

Im not superstitious. I really have no faith in the penny I just enjoy the trivial joy and the fact that it makes a penny have value. I carefully bend down to get this shiny penny, stopping the strangers behind me and every motion in fear of cranberry juice falling everywhere. I get it. I put it on my tray, then on my way.

Well, directly after this. Tori greets me. I for some reason, after I had put so much effort into getting this penny… I give her my penny. Telling her to have heck of a lucky day! She puts it in her wallet. Life goes on I don’t even think twice.

I walk back to my room. And because it’s a beautiful morning, I sit down outside on the steps.

Then. Right as I set down to the left of my beside my foot…. I found a coin. A Elizabethan coin facing heads up.

Yes. That is way cooler then a penny! And. Much more rare to my life.

I believe when we give away to others, God gives to us and often in a greater way. Although, It is not always a tangible reward, it is always good. Throughout the Bible, Old and New Testament giving is encouraged. He who is generous will be blessed , Every man shall give as he is able, according to the blessing of the LORD your God which He has given you. , Give, and it will be given to you The generous man will be prosperous, and he who waters will himself be watered. , Give to everyone who asks of you, and whoever takes away what is yours, do not demand it back. ,…the righteous gives and does not hold back He who gives to the poor will never want ,

So yes I just googled bible verses on giving and pasted them together. But do we realize the importance of giving. There is power in giving! There is blessing in giving! There is such great FREEDOM in giving.

I think this one excites me most, because growing up we have had a lot of stuff. and clutter. and I think we are all finding it just leads to chaos and stress and bondage. Freedom from stuff owning you! And freedom from wanting that is never satisfying. He who gives to the poor, will never want.

Now I did find that shiny penny worth taking the time to pick up, but imagine my life if I couldn’t give a way a penny… I want to live life in a way that no thing I own, I couldn’t give away. I don’t want to be attached to things of this world. Now yes, I have to keep my car, and a house to live in obviously. But. If someone likes my earrings, could I give them away? I don’t want be stupid in giving, but I don’t want stuff to own me. I want to live generously, with all that I have been blessed with. Not just penny’s but my time and my energy and my brain. It is kind of God’s anyhow!

So that’s what giving away a penny taught me this morning.

What would the world look like if stuff didn’t own us?

 

Leave a Reply

