Known

“What we hunger for perhaps more than anything else is to be known in our full humanness, and yet that is often just what we also fear more than anything else. It is important to tell at least from time to time the secret of who we truly and fully are . . . because otherwise we run the risk of losing track of who we truly and fully are and little by little come to accept instead the highly edited version which we put forth in hope that the world will find it more acceptable than the real thing.” – Frederick Buechner

I think life overall would be better if people would be themselves. If people were really honest to themselves. However, to many times, when we have tried to be vulnerable with others, it has been thrown back in our face, used against us, or laughed up. Those are scares that hurt the most. It is important to trust the right people. But it is also important to not give up on people. I never want to find myself later in life, lost. Not even knowing if I like Vanilla or Chocolate ice-cream better living life to please others. I never want to live life that the world controls me out of fear. I want to be me, and known for me. I don’t want to be known for the poster version of me that I so often put up. I need to be known for me. I desire that freedom and life. I think this is what He wanted for us also!  When we know ourselves in Christ, we can live this way. 

I am so thankful for friendships of love, truth, depth. They are worth it. These people I truly know, I truly love. Even in the messiness. The people that know me, still love me so well. I can not imagine life without that. Thankful that they know and love me well. They know good and the bad. We have been through life. So proud of each of them. Im beyond blessed to know them. Love that they are Jesus loving, world changers. Missing my heart friends tonight, and thankful for the new ones I have here. 

Image

What would the church look like if we really lived in community? Seeing the good and the bad? Being vulnerable? Isn’t this what christian community looks like? Why don’t we live this way? How many people do you really know? How many people really know you?

Leave a Reply

