Do

What can I do for You?
What can I bring to You?
What kind of song would you like me to sing?

‘Cause I’ll dance a dance for You
Pour out my love to You
What can I do for You beautiful king?

‘Cause I… can’t thank You enough.
I can’t thank You enough
What can I do for You?
What can I bring to You?
What kind of song would you like me to sing?

‘Cause I’ll dance a dance for You
Pour out my love to You
What can I do for You beautiful king?

‘Cause I… can’t thank You enough.
I can’t thank You enough
All of the words that I find… and I can’t thank You enough.
No matter I try… I can’t thank You enough.
Then I hear You sing to me

“you… don’t have to do a thing
Just simply be with me and let those things go
‘Cause they can wait another minute

Wait… this moment is too sweet
Would you please stay here with Me
And love on Me a little longer”

I hear You say…
“You… don’t have to do a thing
Just simply be with me and let those things go
‘Cause they can wait another minute

Wait… this moment is too sweet
Would you please stay here with Me
And love on Me a little longer
I’d love to be with you a little longer
‘Cause I’m in love with you

Now. My mom would call this a Jesus girlfriend song cause you can’t tell if it’s about Jesus or your girlfriend. I get that nevertheless, there is rich depth to this song.

Let me explain.

I am extremely blessed. I am alive. I can walk, talk, skip, eat, talk. I am in good health. I have a family & friends that loves me well. I have a house. We have always had food. I have the privilege to chose between food. My brain works. I was born in America. I have an education. I have a variety of clothes to wear. I have options for my future. I have a car. I have a phone. I have a full ride to college. The majority of these things, I can’t take any credit for. I cannot thank God enough.

I have recognized for most of my life that I have been seriously blessed, and that I do not want to and can not waste it. I have asked God many times, “What can I do for you? What do you need me to do? I don’t want to waste the talents you have given me? I can’t do that. What should I do, What can I do. What can’t I do? This stuff is not mine but yours, what do you want me to do with it? I have been given so much, I can’t waste it.”

One of my greatest fears is wasting my life. I always really related to Martha. I spend a good deal of the life. And doing a lot. I am good at it. I enjoy it. My high school resume is bad ass. It failed me. But, doing, that is what I thought you were supposed to do. That is what I was taught; intentionally or unintentionally, by the church. Although we teach faith is not based on works, it’s not always that same reality. So I did a whole lot. I do a whole lot.

Then. I hear you say to me.
You don’t have to do a thing, just simple be with me.o
Let those things go.
Cause they can wait another minute…

I don’t have to do a thing. I don’t have to DO anything. I don’t have to do ANYTHING. There is literally no way I could wastes my life if I really know Jesus. If I really walk in relationship with him & loving his people- You can’t waste it.

Now, I can tell you how you to waste it… You can waste it by doing a bunch of things. Good things. Bad things. Even crazy big Jesus things… and not know, Him as it says in Mathew. You can waste it by doing a whole lot, nut never even knowing Him.

He wants us to know Him. And I want to know Him.

To Do: Be with Him.

 

Leave a Reply

